The Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District was carved out of the then Bole District in 2004. Indeed, the District was one of the twenty-eight (28) districts created in that year. As one of the twenty-Six (26) districts in the Northern Region, the district is located in the western part of the Northern Region, between latitudes 8o 40’ and 9o 40’ North and longitudes 1 o 50’ and 2 o 45’ west.

The District shares common boundaries with Wa West District and Wa East to the North, Bole District to the South, West Gonja District to the East and La Cote d’Ivoire and Burkina Faso to the West. It has a total land area of about 4,601 square kilometers out of the total area of 74,984 kilometers of the Northern Region, representing six point one four percent (6.14%) of the total land mass of the Northern Region. Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District capital, Sawla is about 210 kilometers North West of Tamale, the Northern Regional capital in the Republic of Ghana.
Socio-Demographic Characteristics
Population dynamics
The total population is estimated to be 99,863 (2010 Population and housing Census). This population is made up of 51,594 female and 48,269 male. Meanwhile, the Population of people, 18 years and above is 45,182 of which 25,657 are female and 19,495 are male.
Out of the total population, eighty-six percent (86%) of the people lived in the rural areas and fourteen percent (14%) lived in the urban areas.

According to the 2010 population and housing census, the district recorded 98,880 populations in households and a total number of households of 14,906 with a household size of 6.6%.
It must be noted that, Sawla, Tuna, Kalba and Gindabou are the settlements which qualifies as urban areas since their population are above 5000. The population of the district is evenly distributed with the population density increasing from fourteen (14) persons per sq. km in 2000 to twenty two (22) persons per sq. Km in 2010.
The growth rate of the district is 3.1% which is slightly higher than the National Growth rate of 3.0%.There are Two hundred and Seventy-Eight (278) communities and five area councils (Sawla, Tuna, Kalba, Sanyeri and Gindabo) in the district with varying populations.
Find below a table and figures depicting the population dynamics of the district indicating the sex composition and dependent classes.
In case you want to read our full profile Click here

The Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District Assembly is made up of several Departments and Units, see below;
1.Central Administration

  • District Finance Office
  • District Budget Office
  • District Planning Office
  • District Environmental Health Unit
  • Human Resource
  • Internal Audit Unit and
  • Information Office

2. Department of Social Welfare and Community Development
3. District Agriculture Development Unit
4. District Education Directorate
5. District Health Directorate
6. District Works Department
7. National Board for Small Scale Enterprises (Business Advisory Centre)
8. National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO)